Dissecting Deron Williams

I’m not an NBA player. Not even close. In fact, the player I would resemble the most is one Muggsy Bogues. And even I’m a little bit taller than the 5 foot 3 inches that he was. So far be it from me to criticise an NBA player. An NBA superstar no less. But yet I feel I have to as I can hold it in no longer, so here it goes. Is Deron Williams really that good?

Take a breath before you search for my contact details and give me a mouthful, and hear me out. I like Deron Williams, and I really admire his play. Williams is good, great even, and people talk about him as one of the best point guards in the league, if not the best. But for me, I don’t think he’s a top 5 point guard in the NBA, and I’ll tell you why. Firstly, I believe that both Chris Paul and a healthy Derrick Rose are better players, no question. They influence the game more, and more importantly they make those around them better. I’m not saying Williams doesn’t do these things, just the other two do it better. When you think of Chris Paul and Derrick Rose, you think of that unbelievable desire to win that they both possess. Close your eyes and imagine both Paul and Rose winning and NBA title. Can you do it? I know I can. Now try and do the same with Deron Williams. Well, how’d you do?

Rajon Rondo is the most unorthodox point guard in the league, and his style of play never ceases to amaze. For years people spoke about the ‘Big 3’ and rightly so, but it was Rondo who made them tick with his unrivalled passing ability. Add a title to his resume, even though he was drafted into a good situation, and he has to go above Williams.

So as of right now Williams sits at fourth best point guard in the league, and this is where the argument gets a little tricky. Russell Westbrook is not everybody’s cup of tea, and I get that. He is an erratic shooter and there are facets of his game which need work. But he is only 23 years old, and already has more playoff experience than Williams, including that all important trip to the Finals last year. He has also shown he has that big game mentality. Now Williams was part of some very good Utah Jazz teams, with one of the best coaches the NBA has ever had in Jerry Sloan, yet he never reached the Finals there. Of course some great teams stood in their way back then, most notably the San Antonin Spurs who beat them four games to one in the Western Conference Finals in 2007. So now Williams sits at fifth. (Kind of.)

Things really do become hazy now. Steve Nash, despite being ancient, has more individual honours than Deron, as well as now playing for a title contender in the Lakers, so does that make him the better player? The better choice to have at point guard for your team? He certainly knows how to run an offense in a way no other player does. He has also been a league MVP twice, while Williams has never even made the All-NBA first team. Or maybe you go with the massive potential and upswing of Kyrie Irving at this point? A little premature sure, but in his one season in the league he has already turned heads and made the worst team of 2010, the Cleveland Cavaliers, look respectable once more. If Kyrie was in Deron’s position, think of how good he could make the Brooklyn Nets in the long run. Some may argue this Nets team isn’t built for the long run, but who wouldn’t want long term stability and definite All-Star ability at the point guard position for at least a decade? Similarly, if Williams played for the Cavaliers, would they be a better team? Probably yes, although Williams didn’t exactly set the basketball world ablaze while playing for a poor New Jersey Nets team. So there is competition even for that number five spot I have so cruelly bestowed upon him.

Deron Williams could prove me wrong next year, and I hope he does. Now really is his chance. On paper, this is the best team he will ever have run the point on. Perhaps not as deep as the Utah teams he once graced, but certainly with far more star-power. By next summer he could be hoisting the Larry O’Brien trophy high into the air, whilst also clutching his first NBA Finals MVP award. That would certainly shut me up, but I just can’t see the Barclays Center hanging a banner from the rafters quite yet.

I’m not an NBA player. Not even close. In fact, the player I would resemble the most is one Muggsy Bogues. And even I’m a little bit taller than the 5 foot 3 inches that he was. So far be it from me to criticise an NBA player. An NBA superstar no less. But yet I feel I have to as I can hold it in no longer, so here it goes. Is Deron Williams really that good?

Take a breath before you search for my contact details and give me a mouthful, and hear me out. I like Deron Williams, and I really admire his play. Williams is good, great even, and people talk about him as one of the best point guards in the league, if not the best. But for me, I don’t think he’s a top 5 point guard in the NBA, and I’ll tell you why. Firstly, I believe that both Chris Paul and a healthy Derrick Rose are better players, no question. They influence the game more, and more importantly they make those around them better. I’m not saying Williams doesn’t do these things, just the other two do it better. When you think of Chris Paul and Derrick Rose, you think of that unbelievable desire to win that they both possess. Close your eyes and imagine both Paul and Rose winning and NBA title. Can you do it? I know I can. Now try and do the same with Deron Williams. Well, how’d you do?

Rajon Rondo is the most unorthodox point guard in the league, and his style of play never ceases to amaze. For years people spoke about the ‘Big 3’ and rightly so, but it was Rondo who made them tick with his unrivalled passing ability. Add a title to his resume, even though he was drafted into a good situation, and he has to go above Williams.

So as of right now Williams sits at fourth best point guard in the league, and this is where the argument gets a little tricky. Russell Westbrook is not everybody’s cup of tea, and I get that. He is an erratic shooter and there are facets of his game which need work. But he is only 23 years old, and already has more playoff experience than Williams, including that all important trip to the Finals last year. He has also shown he has that big game mentality. Now Williams was part of some very good Utah Jazz teams, with one of the best coaches the NBA has ever had in Jerry Sloan, yet he never reached the Finals there. Of course some great teams stood in their way back then, most notably the San Antonin Spurs who beat them four games to one in the Western Conference Finals in 2007. So now Williams sits at fifth. (Kind of.)

Things really do become hazy now. Steve Nash, despite being ancient, has more individual honours than Deron, as well as now playing for a title contender in the Lakers, so does that make him the better player? The better choice to have at point guard for your team? He certainly knows how to run an offense in a way no other player does. He has also been a league MVP twice, while Williams has never even made the All-NBA first team. Or maybe you go with the massive potential and upswing of Kyrie Irving at this point? A little premature sure, but in his one season in the league he has already turned heads and made the worst team of 2010, the Cleveland Cavaliers, look respectable once more. If Kyrie was in Deron’s position, think of how good he could make the Brooklyn Nets in the long run. Some may argue this Nets team isn’t built for the long run, but who wouldn’t want long term stability and definite All-Star ability at the point guard position for at least a decade? Similarly, if Williams played for the Cavaliers, would they be a better team? Probably yes, although Williams didn’t exactly set the basketball world ablaze while playing for a poor New Jersey Nets team. So there is competition even for that number five spot I have so cruelly bestowed upon him.

Deron Williams could prove me wrong next year, and I hope he does. Now really is his chance. On paper, this is the best team he will ever have run the point on. Perhaps not as deep as the Utah teams he once graced, but certainly with far more star-power. By next summer he could be hoisting the Larry O’Brien trophy high into the air, whilst also clutching his first NBA Finals MVP award. That would certainly shut me up, but I just can’t see the Barclays Center hanging a banner from the rafters quite yet.

I’m not an NBA player. Not even close. In fact, the player I would resemble the most is one Muggsy Bogues. And even I’m a little bit taller than the 5 foot 3 inches that he was. So far be it from me to criticise an NBA player. An NBA superstar no less. But yet I feel I have to as I can hold it in no longer, so here it goes. Is Deron Williams really that good?

Take a breath before you search for my contact details and give me a mouthful, and hear me out. I like Deron Williams, and I really admire his play. Williams is good, great even, and people talk about him as one of the best point guards in the league, if not the best. But for me, I don’t think he’s a top 5 point guard in the NBA, and I’ll tell you why. Firstly, I believe that both Chris Paul and a healthy Derrick Rose are better players, no question. They influence the game more, and more importantly they make those around them better. I’m not saying Williams doesn’t do these things, just the other two do it better. When you think of Chris Paul and Derrick Rose, you think of that unbelievable desire to win that they both possess. Close your eyes and imagine both Paul and Rose winning and NBA title. Can you do it? I know I can. Now try and do the same with Deron Williams. Well, how’d you do?

Rajon Rondo is the most unorthodox point guard in the league, and his style of play never ceases to amaze. For years people spoke about the ‘Big 3’ and rightly so, but it was Rondo who made them tick with his unrivalled passing ability. Add a title to his resume, even though he was drafted into a good situation, and he has to go above Williams.

So as of right now Williams sits at fourth best point guard in the league, and this is where the argument gets a little tricky. Russell Westbrook is not everybody’s cup of tea, and I get that. He is an erratic shooter and there are facets of his game which need work. But he is only 23 years old, and already has more playoff experience than Williams, including that all important trip to the Finals last year. He has also shown he has that big game mentality. Now Williams was part of some very good Utah Jazz teams, with one of the best coaches the NBA has ever had in Jerry Sloan, yet he never reached the Finals there. Of course some great teams stood in their way back then, most notably the San Antonin Spurs who beat them four games to one in the Western Conference Finals in 2007. So now Williams sits at fifth. (Kind of.)

Things really do become hazy now. Steve Nash, despite being ancient, has more individual honours than Deron, as well as now playing for a title contender in the Lakers, so does that make him the better player? The better choice to have at point guard for your team? He certainly knows how to run an offense in a way no other player does. He has also been a league MVP twice, while Williams has never even made the All-NBA first team. Or maybe you go with the massive potential and upswing of Kyrie Irving at this point? A little premature sure, but in his one season in the league he has already turned heads and made the worst team of 2010, the Cleveland Cavaliers, look respectable once more. If Kyrie was in Deron’s position, think of how good he could make the Brooklyn Nets in the long run. Some may argue this Nets team isn’t built for the long run, but who wouldn’t want long term stability and definite All-Star ability at the point guard position for at least a decade? Similarly, if Williams played for the Cavaliers, would they be a better team? Probably yes, although Williams didn’t exactly set the basketball world ablaze while playing for a poor New Jersey Nets team. So there is competition even for that number five spot I have so cruelly bestowed upon him.

Deron Williams could prove me wrong next year, and I hope he does. Now really is his chance. On paper, this is the best team he will ever have run the point on. Perhaps not as deep as the Utah teams he once graced, but certainly with far more star-power. By next summer he could be hoisting the Larry O’Brien trophy high into the air, whilst also clutching his first NBA Finals MVP award. That would certainly shut me up, but I just can’t see the Barclays Center hanging a banner from the rafters quite yet.

 
About nbaeire
Just a young guy trying to make the NBA relevant in Ireland. Any fans from Ireland or beyond, feel free to comment or submit articles to the page.

Leave a Reply

